Recommendations for traveling on Whole30

About half way through my Whole30, I went on a three day trip to San Francisco for work. I wanted to set myself up for success, so I took about 30 minutes out of my day to plan how I would approach eating.

35F858D0-B6DD-4BCD-8E9A-EB21024283F2
Just a little photo-op detour in my way to the hotel

I knew it would be a real challenge because SFO is my favorite airport in the world, and it’s bars and restaurants are always a welcomed treat after a wait through security. Here are my tips for keeping Whole30 while away from home:

5F7B7B60-A4DB-4B26-87D3-B761A1B7CD27
As she stared at the artwork in the long dark hallway of the Twitter building… all she saw were funfetti cupcakes. Sprinkles and frosting.
  • Bora Bora Balls. I made these tasty protein packed meatballs the day before my trip and put them in the freezer after they cooled. I then packed 15 of them in a small lunchbox with a small ice pack. I had no problems with security and they were very cold by the time I put them in the fridge.
  • Small thermos filled with warm leftovers. I bought this and filled it with day-old cauliflower pork fried “rice.” It saved me money on lunch and tasted great.
  • Larabars. I brought enough to have one a day, but only ended up eating one on the return flight.
  • Prosciutto and fruit. I packed prosciutto with the meatballs and a small pear. I realized I didn’t pack a knife, so I just munched on the prosciutto and fruit in unison when I was hungry at night and it got the job done.
  • Hotel with fridge. Production put me up at a Sheraton, and all rooms come with a fridge. I stored my meatballs in there and microwaved them in a common area. Most hotels are very accommodating. If you are in a hotel without room fridges, ask the front desk if you can store something small in their restaurant fridge or employee fridge.
  • What I ate while out? Topping-less burgers with salads (not my favorite), steak salads, steak with vegetables, salmon with sweet potato fries, oysters

Hope this list helps as you plan your upcoming trip while on Whole30. Not on Whole30?? Use these tips to save money and eat more nutritiously while traveling. Cheers!

download.png

Leave a Reply

