Pork Ragu with Squash Pasta (Paleo- Friendly)

ragu with pasta

It always seems like I’m broke this time of year. As a working actress my income ebbs and flows, but for the last three years the months between June and October have been especially lean. That means I find myself cooking at home more than usual and often with simpler, cheaper ingredients. But!! Just because I have to cut back on my spending doesn’t mean my meals need to be boring.

IMG_5031

This is one of my regular go-tos primarily because it’s so easy and filling and it makes a lot of left overs. I usually have enough sauce to make lunch and dinner for a couple of weekday meals and then I make another sauce for the remaining squash pasta, if there is any, or just freeze the leftovers. Either way this recipe never leaves me hungry, and since it’s paleo-friendly, it also leaves me feeling guilt-free. Feel free to swap out the pork for practically anything else. I love ground lamb!

PORK RAGU WITH SQUASH PASTA

Prep Time: 5 minutes  Cook Time: 40 minutes  Total Active Time: 45 minutes

Serves: 4

  • 1/2 lb ground organic pork
  • 1 can San Marzano Tomatoes (crushed or whole and peeled)
  • handful of basil, cut chiffonade style
  • 2 shallots, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 1 tablespoon ghee
  • one spaghetti squash
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Squash:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Cut the squash open lengthwise and scrape out seeds.
  3. Spray squash insides with olive oil cooking spray.
  4. Salt and pepper and arrange on a baking sheet.
  5. Bake for 30- 40 minutes, or until the the squash is cooked but still has slight firmness. Let cool.
  6. When the squash  is cool enough to be handled, scrape the insides out lengthwise with a fork.
  7. Drizzle with one table spoon olive oil and set aside.

Ragu:

  1. Drizzle remaining olive oil in a hot sauce pan and cook shallots until soft.
  2. Add ground pork and cook until browned, then add garlic and cook for a minute.
  3. Pour in tomatoes and ghee, bring to a boil, then simmer for approximately 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Sprinkle in basil.

To serve:

I like to portion mine out 2 parts sauce to 1 part spaghetti.

Leave a Reply

