Alisha Makes: Mushroom Crostini with Goat Cheese

Wild Mushroom Crostini

I studied abroad in Australia a few years ago; It’s where my love of food and wine really took hold. I was living in Melbourne, Victoria and constantly eating and drinking my face off. During a wine tasting weekend in Yarra Valley, I stopped at Oakridge Winery to taste and they had one of the most memorable chardonnays that I’ve ever sipped. I bought a bottle, stayed for lunIMG_4087ch,  and got to try these savory wild mushroom crostinis (theirs was made with feta). When I got back to the States, I made them with goat cheese and it’s been in my recipe arsenal ever since.

I love them obviously for their taste, but also because they are cheap and a great crowd pleaser at a party. It also nudges you into the mysterious world of mushrooms. Sometimes I think some of them look a little freaky, but then I think, get adventurous! I learned what I liked by picking the ones that looked the funkiest and then reading up on them when I got home.

Even at Whole Foods, I was pleased to see that large handfuls of mushrooms were averaging a little over $2 a type. Most of the other ingredients you might have on hand, but if your fridge was bare and sad like mine, you might of had to grab butter, goat cheese, etc. All my grocery store purchases were about $15 and I had left over thyme, butter, bread, and goat cheese for other culinary adventures. Enjoy!

 

MUSHROOM CROSTINI WITH GOAT CHEESE

Prep Time: 10 minutes Cook Time: 10 minutes Total Time: 20 minutes

Serves: 6, 2 crostini each

  • Assortment of mushrooms (ex: brown beech, shiitake, enokitake, crimini, etc)
  • 2 tbs butter
  • Sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 garlic, diced
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • crusty bread, 1/4 inch thick slices on a diagonal
  • 1 ounce Goat cheese
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • Salt and pepper
  1. Slice up mushrooms
  2. Add butter and shallots of sauce pan and cook until softened
  3. Add mushrooms, starting with the most dense, thyme, and garlic, white wine, salt, pepper, and lemon juice
  4. Cook until liquid has evaporated, but mushrooms are still firm and holding their shape
  5. Set aside and let cool
  6. Brush bread slices with oil
  7. Top crostini with a tablespoon of mushroom mixture and add top with small pieces of goat cheese
  8. Broil crostini for one minute
  9. Sprinkle with thyme and drizzle with sesame oil

crostini

Leave a Reply

